Nintendo DSi – New Features, Same Look

Nintendo finally came out and announced the Nintendo DS redesign, called the DSi. This product will have an SD memory slot, a 3.25 inch screen (bigger than the last) and a 3 megapixel camera.  The DSi is 12% smaller than the DS Lite and will have a matted gray and regular white finish; no colors upon launch it seems.

Conveniently the DSi has an SD slot for saving photos from the 3 megapixel camera so that you can transfer them to the Wii and use their Photo Channel. The Wii already has an SD card slot so now both devices can work together via the sneaker net.

The DS redesign looks much like the typical DS in looks and layout, a bit sad in my opinion. I was hoping for something a bit more “sexy” and awesome – the Apple way of doing things. Alas, nobody has a design team like Apple so we’ve got what we’ve got and that’s the DSi.

How did the alter the networking? They’ve created a store system much like that of the Wii and will be renaming Wii Points to Nintendo Points to show its more generic versitile nature to the new DSi hardware. You’ll be able to download games to an SD card making the portable device more acceptable to storage size increases, unlike the standard DS hardware.

Nintendo never really mentioned the MP3 concept, using the “audio” more for crazy reasons such as slowing down the speed or increasing it, which may suggest it as another tool for language learning tools.

Any takers? SD card slot is a nice addition and a little more integration with downloadable content would be well accepted by all communities and cultures.

(Thanks, 1up; Image via Kotaku)

0 thoughts on “Nintendo DSi – New Features, Same Look”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

Episode 570: Fallout: New Vegas ReduxEpisode 570: Fallout: New Vegas Redux

This week’s Gaming Flashback, Fallout: New Vegas, sets the crew on a long discussion of what made New Vegas good and Fallout 4 a failed sequel, and the inherent problems of the mainline Bethesda games as opposed to Obsidian’s take.

This week’s news includes:

  • Nintendo “investigating” reports of accounts being breached
  • Nintendo gearing up for increased Switch production following global shortages
  • COVID-19 lockdowns have led to surges in popularity for survival and sports games
  • Animal Crossing trading is being ruined by absurd trader fees

Let us know if you, too, are obsessing over the latest Animal Crossing.

Episode 726: Directly NintendoEpisode 726: Directly Nintendo

No Gravatar

This week is Nintendo’s turn at their showcase. But you know what? There’s even more to talk about. The Beyond Good and Evil remaster showcased, Ace Attorney Investigations Collection also getting remastered, the banana clicking game now 9th most popular of all time on Steam, Embracer Group shuts down Pieces Interactive, Life is Strange: Double Exposure ‘will respect both endings’ to original game, FromSoftware warns new Elden Ring Steam Deck bug making game unresponsive, and Microsoft will be at this year’s Gamescom.

The other news includes:

  • Sims-like rival Life by You has been canceled after indefinite delay

We also have listener feedback. Let us know what you think.

The post Episode 726: Directly Nintendo first appeared on Gaming Podcast.

Michael Pachter Says Wii HD Will LaunchMichael Pachter Says Wii HD Will Launch

Wedbush Morgan Securities analyst Michael Pachter is “absolutely convinced” we’ll see a Nintendo Wii HD by 2011. What makes him so sure? In short, Nintendo will start to look bad if their console is said to be “for your mom” instead of for gamers.

What they’ve done, so far, is show the industry there is more market than just hardcore gamers. They’ve also convinced many of us that only hardcore gamers actually buy games. Nintendo says they’re selling games, we’ve just not seen any real evidence of that outside of their own first party titles.

“Nintendo has to overcome that [lack of graphics power],” said Pachter. “A Wii HD would really position Nintendo well, which is why I’m absolutely convinced there is a Wii HD coming. Businesswise, they can’t have people saying that their machine is a toy for my mom.” (gamedaily)

Nintendo obviously doesn’t to be the focus of a “your mom” joke outside of being able to boast huge sales figures. Selling the console into homes has definitely raised the awareness of their brand to gamers and non-gamers alike. Now, it seems, Nintendo is going to have to “grow up” and get with the high definition graphics crowd… by 2011.

Would you re-buy a Wii if it was in HD? It’s also important to note Prachter believed Take-Two would become EA and was “convinced” of it. That didn’t happen. Will this?