Gaming Podcast 119: Love Stick

This week we’re learning a bit about Donkey Kong Junior as well as listening to Don convince Derrick that the second stage in Donkey Kong was in Donkey Kong Junior. We’re also looking back to Billy Mitchell, a Guinness Book World Record holder for video games. This week, news was a bit light but we managed to cover:

We also tackle the incoming comments answering our question of the week about TSR and Wizards of the Coast. This week, we’re asking people if Don is wierd for replaying video games right after he beats them. Does anyone else do that?

0 thoughts on “Gaming Podcast 119: Love Stick”

  1. I won’t have an “official” response to this ’til I hear the context within the podcast, but I will say that it depends on what you mean by “right after beating” the game. If you mean only five minutes have passed and then I turn around and start over, then no. Never.

    (*pause* Well, possibly with “Dragon’s Lair II”, but that only took maybe twelve minutes to replay, so it doesn’t count. )

    Generally, the longer it takes me to play through a game, the longer I’ll wait before trying to play it again. With the possible exception of games that come out with expansion packs around the same time that I’ve beaten the game (which happened to me with “Oblivion.”) But even then, I’m not replaying the exact same game.

    And sometimes I’ll restart a game without having fully beaten it yet, just to try out different characters or teams, depending on the game.

    In other words: if the game is short or has varied replay value, then it’s not weird. Otherwise, yeah, TOTALLY weird. ‘;D

  2. I won’t have an “official” response to this ’til I hear the context within the podcast, but I will say that it depends on what you mean by “right after beating” the game. If you mean only five minutes have passed and then I turn around and start over, then no. Never.

    (*pause* Well, possibly with “Dragon’s Lair II”, but that only took maybe twelve minutes to replay, so it doesn’t count. )

    Generally, the longer it takes me to play through a game, the longer I’ll wait before trying to play it again. With the possible exception of games that come out with expansion packs around the same time that I’ve beaten the game (which happened to me with “Oblivion.”) But even then, I’m not replaying the exact same game.

    And sometimes I’ll restart a game without having fully beaten it yet, just to try out different characters or teams, depending on the game.

    In other words: if the game is short or has varied replay value, then it’s not weird. Otherwise, yeah, TOTALLY weird. ‘;D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

Gaming Podcast 137: BeateratorGaming Podcast 137: Beaterator

This week’s gaming podcast covers a bunch of topics you’d expect to hear in a gaming podcast. What? Yeah, we’re flashing back to Master of Orion and taking a little look into the background of Stephen Barcia all while covering a bit of news and community comments. This weeks news includes:

This week’s question of the week is pretty simple: what, in your opinion, is the best generation of consoles from the earliest until today’s consoles?

Episode 398: Only Two MoreEpisode 398: Only Two More

Two more episodes, and Paul is no longer a regular podcast host. On a side note, there will be no podcast next week due to scheduling conflicts.

This week’s news:

  • The Pokémon Company shuts down PAX party with lawsuit
  • 881 E.T. cartridges buried in New Mexico desert sell for over $100K
  • The smaller new 3DS is coming to the US on September 25
  • How GOG rescued 13 Forgotten Realms games from licensing hell

All this and Listener Feedback.

TD Gaming Podcast 85: GTA IV RantTD Gaming Podcast 85: GTA IV Rant

This weeks gaming podcast we cover a little history on Joust and a bit about Stieg Hedlund, a popular game designer, artist and writer. This weeks news coverage involves:

This week Don and Derrick give their final impressions on Grand Theft Auto IV, both finally beating it. There are two conflicting opinions, more like the last few RPG-style GTA’s or more shoot ’em up, keep it the same. What do you think? Also, does anybody know how much does gta 5 cost ps4?