Episode 282: Resident Paul 6

This week’s episode is light on news but heavy on features, as the Gaming Flashback checks out the coin-op arcade racer Omega Race while the Gaming History looks at the failed GameBoy Micro.

This week’s news includes:

  • Resident Evil 6 on-disc DLC unlocked by modders
  • Sony sues Kevin Butler actor for appearing in Wii commercial
  • World of Warcraft cities laid waste by first level priest

We also have a single Reader Feedback and the Question of the Week is, “What is your game purchase in the Fall season with the highest priority?”

0 thoughts on “Episode 282: Resident Paul 6”

  1. Sorry Paul, I just don’t do hate.

    Jordan, your description of Rage reminds me of how I felt after finishing Doom 3. Not a bad game, but I wouldn’t pay 60 USD for it.

    @Resident Evil 6 on-disc DLC unlocked by modders
    Bwa ha ha ha ha :))
    Way to go modders! As far as I am concerned, the contents id already free (if you bough the game).
    Dan, interesting point there, it could be something to be unlocked.

    @World of Warcraft cities laid waste by first level priest
    What makes it funny is that Blizzard is now going after the hacker. Jeez, why not invest the time in finding other such bugs and patch those as well? Talk about the wrong way to spend time and energy.

    @QOTW: None, unfortunately. I had very little time to play any game in the first half of the year, I doubt I’ll have more in the fall or winter. Heck, I still have Shadowrun to finish, Portal 2, the Penumbra games and so on.
    I might pick up a game or two if there’s a sale on Steam – maybe Company of Heroes or Metro 2033, but again, no new game, and with very little chance of playing them these months.

    @Cheating AI: Red Alert was also cheating.
    And yes, Quake 3 bots were able to accurately figure out the velocity vector of the player in order to lead their rockets (cheating). True. But you could also change your direction after the rocket was shot. And in the mean time, you would have to place your own rockets close enough to frag them. That’s the challenge, beat a cheating computer.

  2. Turns out the Resident Evil 6 DLC is free after all. The next DLC will probably unlock the rest of the copntent on the disc.

  3. @Sony sues Kevin Butler actor for appearing in Wii commercial: In my opinion they are making a big deal over nothing. It’s not like someone was going to buy a PS3 but then decided to buy some tires because there was a chance they could win a Wii. I even read that his exclusivity contract expired a few days before the ad aired.

    @QOTW: This fall I only plan to buy Assassin’s Creed III, so that I can save up some money for the Wii U. It is at the top of my list because I know for sure that I will enjoy it, especially now that it’s finally changed to another setting.

    P.S. I would love to hear that Doctor Who podcast some time soon. If any of you haven’t seen it, here’s the brilliant unshot scene that would have been perfect in the last episode: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWU6XL9xI4k

  4. @Sony and Kevin Butler

    Never heard of the guy. Only seen him once during the E3. They didn’t market him outside US. Fully agree with DynamicJul. Much Ado about Nothing. Sony’s lawyers just want a thicker pay check this Christmas.

    @Warcraftopocalyps

    I wish I was there. That’s what I love about MMOs. Sometimes stuff like that happens. Before it died, Face of Mankind was like that every day. Something bonkers would happen all the time. To bad that Blizzard will probably find the guys, fine them $1 million and get them imprisoned in Guatanamo.

    @AI cheating

    I had far to many experiences with this. The eternal bane of shooters was making the AI super accurate. In RTS they would hammer you with endless waves of enemies. Takes out all the fun out of challenging yourself. Left4Dead is a primary example. On expert the AI flaunt all the rules in an attempt to rape you into dust. It’s frustrating but ridiculously satisfying if you succeed.

    @Gameboy Micro

    Here is the reason why it didn’t sell. The day I went out to buy a Micro I instead ended up buying a pre-owned DS with a game for less cash. And it could play GBA games as well. What was the point releasing a Micro after DS anyway?

  5. o hai, i’m sorry, i could not post last podcast. i always post when i can :3

    to begin my feedback i’d like to apologize to Shawn on last podcast’s giveaway on choosing the same game as him (half life). if i had seen that i’d have choosen crash bandicoot 3.

    @jonah calling me drunk on 281st podcast
    1st: i did not meant “‘real time’ reviews” as in real time real time, it was a way for me to say “more often reviews for games that get patched often”.
    AND I ONLY GIVE FEEDBACK WHILE DRUNK SOMETIMES >=] (not now, not then)

    @Resident Evil 6 on-disc DLC unlocked by modders:
    i bet if were not for the Street fighter X tekken “agreement” that capcom made with the consumers after the on disk DLC was discovered, this would not be a free one.

    @QOTW:
    idk, i’m saving money to see if medal of honor: warfighter is worth of my hard drive space. and if dishonored is as good as it looks, i’ll buy it on the winter steam sale. what about CoD:BO2 you ask? nope.avi

  6. @QOTW

    Just bought the new Pokemon. But I don’t think they count as anything major these days. Getting my mits on Halo 4. That’s my target. Hope 343 industries don’t muck it up. Planning to import a Wii U. Straight from Japan. To play all those Japanese Wii titles I missed. And just try to imagine Assasins Creed 3 in Japanese.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

Episode 348: Nostalgia FilterEpisode 348: Nostalgia Filter

This week is a little special as Jonah, Jordan and Paul discuss some of the things that were common in the golden age of 1990’s consoles that are no longer around.

In addition, the news includes:

  • King settles ‘Candy Crush Saga’ trademark disputes amicably
  • Gamestop’s only female executive is fictional
  • Nate Wells leaves Naughty Dog

The Question of the Week: “What gaming activities do you no longer do?”

PlayStation 3, March 2009 Price Drop RumorPlayStation 3, March 2009 Price Drop Rumor

With so many people wishing Sony would cut the PS3 price to something more reasonable, it’s no big surprise we see constant rumors about potential “price cuts.” This time, a March 2009 rumor “supposedly” came out of the Sony Annual Briefing in London where a butt ton of information was “rumored” to be leaked.

The anonymous source is running around with a bunch of neat rumors, such as a LittleBigPlanet release on the PSP but the one that may hit home most with gamers is price cutting. The PS3 has been around for a few years now and hasn’t budged on the price tag; they’ve had fire sales on obsolete products (smaller disk drives mainly) but no official drops.

Sony won’t comment on speculation, of course, but we’re sure they want to catch Mr. Anonymous from hiding in their meetings and giving away their information… if it is real. D+Pad published the rumor-mongers message saying the “SCEE will be getting more competitive in price from March 2009 onwards.”

Easter would be a fine time for a price cut, if the speculation is real. This upcoming holiday would have made the most sense, to consumers, but Sony apparently has no plans to reduce the price around the time their sales will be increasing anyway. As the PlayStation 3 is doing okay in PAL territories Sony is relying on them, it would seem, to kick up the numbers and show Microsoft they’re not the only second-place game in town.

The Wii continues to dominate and we’re sure a PS3 price drop won’t impact Nintendo’s sales strategy or gamers decisions on one console versus the other as a price drop wouldn’t bring it to a competitive Wii price.

What is your magic number? What price would you buy a PS3 at if you don’t own one already. For us? Drop it a bit and throw in a free LittleBigPlanet.

id Software Interested in Nintendo’s Wiiid Software Interested in Nintendo’s Wii

Nintendo is seeing some great successes with their console — duh. What is the best way to provide evidence that Nintendo has a hit with their new little white console? Perhaps the bright blue eyes of id Software? Originally, it was said that id Software wasn’t really interested in developing games for the Wii, perhaps because it goes against all that id Software has developed their company towards since 1991?

keenid Software has always leaned toward bleeding edge content, pushing hardware to its limits and utilizing technology that has just hit the market. Nobody is surprised when they’re forced to upgrade their computers to play the latest id Software creation to its fullest extent. This is the price for being top dog in graphic engines, but now they’re changing their tune a bit.

Okay, it has to be said, is id Software contemplating a Wii game simply because of Nintendo’s success with the console? The core id Software audience isn’t grandma and grampa or the 10-year old kid next door. But, money talks. We’re not saying id Software is hurting for money although we’re not sure what keeps them floating given their last major title was yet another Quake game launched in 2005 with 2004’s DOOM 3 looking like an old man by now. Everyone is waiting on Rage which was announced in 2007 and still hasn’t been given a release date.

Perhaps id Software could use a little Wii to get their name back in the press, get bloggers talking and net them some fresh cash from a large pool of Wii owners looking for their next tennis game. Okay, nobody is going to believe they’d work on a silly Wii Sports clone but they’ve not announced, yet, what this “exclusive Wii” game will be. Carmack did say the Wii is “out of sync with the developments that are currently going on at id,” which suggests they’re going to be working on a new property or perhaps bring back an old property… Wolfenstein 3D, Commander Keen or maybe some Heretic action?

We’ll assume this upcoming id Software title won’t be 100% kid friendly even targeting a Wii platform. Are they going to develop a title for the Wii simply because they know it will be launched on a console with the largest install base in the world? Or, perhaps its a new found passion that Carmack has developed from sharing the Wii experience with his four-year old boy?

(Thanks, 1up)