Microsoft has announced they’ll be giving Xbox Live silver accounts access to play some multi-player cross-platform games for free until the fall update. Recently, Microsoft announced free online play with Games for Windows titles, effectively giving PC gamers “gold accounts” to play online.
Most people agree the move to give gold subscriptions to PC gamers was done because PC gamers don’t care to play Games for Windows games online if they have to pay for it. The culture of PC gaming is much different than console gaming on XBL, gamers expect the online experience at no cost; they’re already paying an ISP for network access, paying for a match-making system with a yearly subscription is not desired.
Console gamers don’t have a choice, buying the 360 experience arrives with simple to play games (no drivers, no installs) but limited online choices: pay or go away. Now, silver members will get a little taste of network play, along side PC gamers in the cross-platform Games for Windows titles.
“Supported cross-platform titles include Universe at War, Shadowrun, and Lost Planet: Colonies Edition.” (gamespot)
We question the intention here… is this as a good faith move or are they wetting people’s appitite for XBL so they’ll want to upgrade to gold in the fall? Or, maybe there are some logistical reasons to doing this in the Xbox Live infrastructure to prepare for upgrades where making it free solves a few of their internal upgrade paths and, as a side effect, gives gamers some games to play.
Of course, we’ve seen few people playing Shadowrun or Lost Planet lately. Maybe this will re-popularize a few older titles as well.
🙂 No, Jonah, I don’t have it (Heart of the Swarm). It’s just that I have a lot of things going against this game: first of all, Starcraft II requires constant on-line DRM. This is a big no-no for me. Big enough to not buy either Starcraft II or Diablo III.
Add to that the fact that I have less and less spare time; so what’s the point of getting a game if I won’t play it? Better leave it for somebody who has the available time.
@Thief to feature “classic mode”, removing all assists
Props to that! I’d love to see that kind of approach used in more games.
@The Witcher 3 confirmed to be DRM-free
Talking about DRM never being an issue, to quote somebody from EA … I know, Jonah, you already mentioned the previous installments last week. Still, I find it amazing that nobody tries the same.
@Bethesda confirms “new version of Doom 4” being worked on, Rage 2 cancelled
Oh man … if only id could remain independent …
Yeah, new Doom 4? What happened with the old Doom 4?
Different kind of flashlight batteries? 😛
Didn’t play Rage; Doom 3 felt a bit stretched – a bit too short of a story for the length of the game. While the choices of flashlight vs. weapon felt artificial, the overall shooting mechanics felt ok.
As for South Korea not having nukes, it doesn’t matter that much, they have pretty much all western countries behind them.
Jonah, get well. Your voice is still … erm … “sexy”?
Hey Jonah, after seeing a Hitler video parody about you that I thought sucked, I thought I would take the time to make you a proper one. I hope you don’t mind!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XH80Mgbt4ss
@Witcher’s great big sword
For those who have not played it, Whitcher is a dating simulator set in the fictional medieval era staring an albino Ron Jeremy. The aim of the game is to have sex with every female species in the world, including (but not limited to) elves,princesses, vampires and sentient plants. To fill the time between plowing the fertile fields of Temeria there is a light RPG mechanic and combat side missions with some sort of a secondary quest of revenge.
@Lucasarts
Pity really. I enjoyed the Jedi Knight series back in the day. Although I didn’t care about their more recent games. Kinect Star wars was a special case. First time people could tell the game was crap just seeing it at E3. On a side note, it’s sad to see all these studios closing. I’ve spent so much time playing THQ and Lucasarts games. Not to mention Midway. Oh well. As long as the talent of the developers lives on and joins another studio it should all be fine. It’s people that count.
@Doomed Rage
Don’t know why anyone cares. Doom was the original FPS. But now we have Halo, COD, Half-Life and all those franchises. Doom 4 has no chance of competing and will most likely crash and burn on day one. Not unless it brings something innovatingly outstanding. Regarding Rage, there is a popular opinion that Bethesda should just stick to Elder Scrolls. Everything else they bring out ends being crap or overlooked (WET, Brink, Rage)