Episode 395: This Episode Sucks

No, really, this episode is one of the worst ever released – boring news, stilted dialog, bad jokes. At least the first news item allowed the crew to rip Pixels. So bad Jonah didn’t bother editing it.

The news items include:

  • Anti-piracy group hits indie creators for using the word “pixels
  • Rare Replay studio’s first UK chart-topper since Banjo-Kazooie on N64 in 1998
  • More Diablo is coming
  • Games for Windows “wasn’t the right approach” says Microsoft

No Listener Feedback or Question of the Week either. That’s how bad this episode was.

0 thoughts on “Episode 395: This Episode Sucks”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

TD Gaming Podcast 76: GamingPodcast.netTD Gaming Podcast 76: GamingPodcast.net

Welcome to the TD Gaming Podcast! This week we discussed:

  • Microsoft releases Xbox 360 before everyone else, will they do it again? (1up)
  • Ubisoft’s Play Zone label/division for Wii mini-games (next-gen)
  • Guitar Hero World Tour Rumors (gamespot)
  • Atari’s Hunts Negative Alone in the Dark Reviews (shacknews)

We take a walk down memory lane with Baldur’s Gate as this weeks Gaming Flashback, take a deeper look into RPG’s and “Devil Worshiping” and we’ll also read a great listener comment regarding video game mascots, what mascots did you enjoy?

TD Gaming Podcast 82: Standing Cows and BovinesTD Gaming Podcast 82: Standing Cows and Bovines

This week we’re talking about pre-owned video games and ask the question, do you buy new or do you buy used? Do you sell your games? We answer some listener comments and hit on a few hot topics:

We’ve also got a bit of history on The Golden Age of Arcade Games and we take a gaming flashback to Mario Brothers, the original non-super version.

Kaz Hirai Dooms 360 To Short LifeKaz Hirai Dooms 360 To Short Life

Sony’s PlayStation 3 has a 10-year plan. We’ve heard about the plan, we’ve seen Sony’s current execution and we’re starting to see some of the titles making their way to the PS3 for 2009. The Xbox 360? Kaz, Sony Computer Entertainment’s head man, made his thoughts clear when speaking to Official PlayStation Magazine.

kaz“Last time I checked, they’ve never had a console that’s been on the market for more than four or five years and we’ve committed to a ten year life cycle, so you do the math…,” he says. He goes on to state that the Xbox 360 won’t have a larger install base by the end of their 10-year plan has been completed, “unless things go really bad.”

Of course, nobody says Microsoft’s 10-year plan isn’t to push out yet another console. Is that wise? We don’t really know, but you can’t count them out on it. Maybe they’ll only have half the install base but two consoles in the market within the next ten years, nobody really knows.

The one major hole we can see in his comments revolve around their claims that the Microsoft doesn’t have any history of a console being on the market for very long. If I recall, Sony managed to squeek one by on Nintendo with the original PlayStation, which changed everything for the next ten years. Sony didn’t have a 5-year track record when they started taking Nintendo down, why does Microsoft need to have an extensive resume as well?

As for Wii?

“It’s difficult to talk about Nintendo because we don’t look at their console as being competitors. They’re a different world and we operate in our world — that’s kind of the way I look at things…” (kotaku)

Say what you want about Microsoft vs. Sony, but it sure sounds like Sony doesn’t want to acknowlege Nintendo’s success because it casts a dark shadow on their own product. Nintendo and Sony have been battling for years, that’s just the way it is and that’s how the industry sees it. When NPD releases numbers, when journalists write articles about consoles and when the war is finished one thing remains constant: all three consoles are included in the equation.