Episode 647: Advertising

[This episode has been re-uploaded due to technical issues]

This week’s is pretty short, featuring a Sonic the Hedgehog and Halo discussion before delving into what’s okay and what’s not okay with in-game advertisements. The Gaming Flashback for this episode is the tripping Journey.

The news includes:

  • PlayStation wants ads in its games, too
  • Bugsnax leads late April Xbox Game Pass line-up
  • Amy Hennig is taking another shot at making a Star Wars game

Let us know what you think.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

Episode 423: Nintendo NXEpisode 423: Nintendo NX

This week revolves around Nintendo’s upcoming console. Otherwise, there isn’t much to speak of in terms of shocking news. However, there is a lot of it this time around.

The news items include:

  • Stardew Valley multiplayer, console ports confirmed
  • Nintendo NX launching March 2017, new mobile games on way
  • Oculus Rift arrives at Best Buy stores ahead of pre-orders
  • Nintendo won’t sell NX at a loss
  • Classic Sega Mega Drive ROM hacks hit Steam workshop

Question of the Week: “Ever play any console ROM hacks?”

Episode 732: Let’s Play BalatroEpisode 732: Let’s Play Balatro

No Gravatar

Concord got canceled after only two weeks, Balatro hits the iOS App Store and Android’s Google Play on September 26, EVE players are in revolt over CCP’s blockchain plans and a year after outraging developers, blowing up its reputation, and saying goodbye to its CEO, Unity decides ‘Runtime Fees’ are a bad idea so it’s getting rid of them.

Oh, and the PS5 Pro is $700.

And it’s Friday the 13th.

Other news includes:

Let us know what you think.

The post Episode 732: Let’s Play Balatro first appeared on Gaming Podcast.

Michael Pachter Says Wii HD Will LaunchMichael Pachter Says Wii HD Will Launch

Wedbush Morgan Securities analyst Michael Pachter is “absolutely convinced” we’ll see a Nintendo Wii HD by 2011. What makes him so sure? In short, Nintendo will start to look bad if their console is said to be “for your mom” instead of for gamers.

What they’ve done, so far, is show the industry there is more market than just hardcore gamers. They’ve also convinced many of us that only hardcore gamers actually buy games. Nintendo says they’re selling games, we’ve just not seen any real evidence of that outside of their own first party titles.

“Nintendo has to overcome that [lack of graphics power],” said Pachter. “A Wii HD would really position Nintendo well, which is why I’m absolutely convinced there is a Wii HD coming. Businesswise, they can’t have people saying that their machine is a toy for my mom.” (gamedaily)

Nintendo obviously doesn’t to be the focus of a “your mom” joke outside of being able to boast huge sales figures. Selling the console into homes has definitely raised the awareness of their brand to gamers and non-gamers alike. Now, it seems, Nintendo is going to have to “grow up” and get with the high definition graphics crowd… by 2011.

Would you re-buy a Wii if it was in HD? It’s also important to note Prachter believed Take-Two would become EA and was “convinced” of it. That didn’t happen. Will this?