Although we’ve found Metacritic a userful resource for game reviews, many folks have gone on a user submission rampage to discredit games that haven’t even launched yet. Their first attack was on LittleBigPlanet followed by Resistance 2, now their hitting Gears of War 2.

While Gears of War 2 has a Metacritic score of 94/100 the user’s have reviewed it to be a 3.5 out of 10, with a bright red box around the user review due to its low nature we’re sure. Although users are free to give their own honest representation of the game from their perspective, Gears of War 2, as of the review dates, hasn’t been released yet – these reviews are bogus.
This style of attack was popularized in Spore, when Amazon got nailed with poor reviews of the game because Spore’s “Draconic” DRM made people angry. However, it’s more reasonable for people to voice their opinion on a known issue with a game; Gears of War 2 review spamming is just mean.
We use Metacritic as guidance when we do our gaming podcast to understand what games are rated in the industry, but we don’t use user reviews as our main guide. There are plenty of folks out there that may utilize these reviews in more seriousness because they may feel journalists reviews are tainted by advertisers or “the man” and want the common gamers opinion.
The common gamer cannot possibility be reviewing Gears of War 2 before the title has arrived. This is bogus. Metacritic has this to say:
“My advice for our faithful users is to focus your attention on the Metascore for this game and not the thousands of user votes, most of which have been submitted before said users have played the game. This is a gaming community, and if people want to stuff the ballot box, there’s not much I can do at this point. When we upgrade the registration requirements for participation on the site in the near future, this type of thing won’t happen. We’ll post the full legitimate user reviews upon the game’s release. As always, thanks for using the site.” (1up)
So, to those looking for holiday gaming gifts, keep this in mind while you start hunting down games you’ll want to buy.
@Black&White
It was the first PC game I played properly. I was surprised at how complex the game was compared to console games. I enjoyed it but it got tedious real quick. One thing that annoyed me about that game was the difference in effort you had to put to be good or bad. If you wanted to be good, you had to feed the villagers, build them houses, protect them and look for their sheep. Being bad was so much easier. Just pick up a bunch of kids and chuck them in the sea. And their parents. And animals. Just chuck everything in the see. That took care of everything and you were on your way to becoming an Elite Omnipotent Asshole.
@Steambox
I for one would love to have a console that runs steam games. For many out there high system requirements are a barrier to PC games. And they just keep getting higher and higher each year. I bet Johna’s new rig already can’t run the latest releases on highest specs. And I find buying PC games to run them in shitty resolution not worth my money. The Steambox would be a good thing. A gaming dedicated PC with decent specs and a powerful cooling system for a sensible price. Although the idea does sound too ambitious. PC games are not uniform. Fitting them all on one hardware if bound to have issues.
@World of Rockcraft
I think they will do it. But for next gen hardware. Wouldn’t want them to make an MMO out of it because I don’t want some twats ruining my criminal empire.
@QOTW
I am with Paul on this one. I get deep into a single-player game storyline. I read books in Elder Scrolls games. I talk to every villager in Final Fantasy games. I do every available side quest in Mass Effect. But when it comes to MMOs, I tend to avoid stories. Mostly because they are crap. 90% are set in a medieval setting where some Dark Lord has been revived and now there is like 3 million warriors that try to stop him. But you are the specialiest one here. Also, because I only play MMOs with friends and it’s difficult to read stuff when others are not interested in the story. I am really into the DC Universe story but that’s because I already have a large knowledge of DC Comics.