One of the great downfalls of an acquisition or merger, in the game industry, is the loss of great franchise titles. Sierra, or Sierra Online, once stood on its own as a company with great gaming titles but later fell into the depths of Hades under many different company names.
Sierra’s last stop on the acquisition highway was Vivendi, years after much of Sierra’s steam had slowed. Now, they’re part of Activision Blizzard so we had high hopes they’d find a great use for some of the old Sierra properties long since collecting dust. Space Quest, Kings Quest, Leisure Suit Larry and especially Gabrielle Knight were some of our favorites, but times have changed.
“We are retaining only those franchises that are a strong fit with our long-term strategy including Crash Bandicoot, Ice Age and Spyro, as well as Prototype and a second game that has not yet been announced. We will not publish any other titles that previously were part of the Vivendi Games portfolio and we are currently reviewing our options regarding those titles,” says Activision Blizzard (joystiq)
This is unfortunate news, Activision Blizzard now has a large set of franchises on their hands, many of which have collected dust for years. Those dust collecting franchises could rise from the dead and reinvigorate their old fan base… or be dropped to the earth as unwanted scrapes after a big hunt with the vultures awaiting their take (sorry, too much watching of Animal Planet)
A reworked Kings Quest or Gabriel Knight could have seriously awesome potential in this time and age, imagine a dark comedy version of Gabriel Knight or a huge scaled world in King Quest using todays graphic engines. Although, these titles could also go the way Atari has gone and taken a well remembered franchise and made mud of its great name (*cough* Alone in the Dark).
Unfortunately, we’ll probably never know the distance an old franchise could go in this new world. We’ll have to pull out an old copy of our prized posessions and remember just how great they once where.
Hi Guys.
Thank you very much as always for the episode. I appreciate the work you put into every episode every week, and i am sorry,
that i can´t listenm to every episode as fast as i want to 🙁
Regarding the topics:
I played a lot of WoW (damn drug), amd since last week a loooot of MTG Arena, because the new set is out and its awesome 🙂
In addition i played some Ori and The Will of the Wisp and a lot of Last of Us 2. And of course some rounds of Jackbox Party, which was really fun!
Space Invaders:
I grew up with this, it was my first game on Atari 2600 back in the 80s 🙂
But paying so much money for a colored version … naaaarrr .. dont think so 🙂
Maybe if it will come to steam and there will be a sale 🙂
Gaming Flashback:
I never even heard of the name of the game … mhmm .. strange. But Regarding Doom: i was not able to play it back in the 90s, because the sound made me sick, i mean really sick. These bass-like sound for a longer time, made me feel like i had to puke 🙁
Shroud & Ninja & Mixer:
These guys have enough money for the rest of their lives … so .. i dont care where they will go, they will have their fans anywhere 🙂
I don´t like Mixer at all, can´t say why, but the “look and feel” is not mine. I can´t say how it was for the streamer, i am only telling my opinion as a viewer.
The only time i go on mixer, is playing JackBox party with Jonah.
SF5:
I loved to watch Street Fighter Tournaments, expecially the EVO or Capcom Cup … i don´t think that the same feelings come over with a online stream. Sadly it´s the best thing they can do right now during this situation.
And yes, SF4 was way more better than SF5 in my opinion!
Thanks again, its always fun, listening to you gus, having fun and hearing your opinion on all these topics 🙂
Stay healthy and i hope to hear from you next week.
Greetings,
Ralf