Gaming Podcast 154: 2010 Predictions

This gaming podcast closes out the year of 2009, we’re going to put in our predictions for the year, we’re going to hear a few comments from listeners and flash back to a game that has yet to be (but is old enough to flash back): Duke Nukem Forever. You’ll also, finally, get the first impressions of Assassin’s Creed 2 and some game news including:

We’ll also ask for your predictions on next years gaming excitement. What are your predictions, in the game industry, for “twenty ten”?

0 thoughts on “Gaming Podcast 154: 2010 Predictions”

  1. @Duke Nukem Forever: but there’s more!
    http://www.breakitdownblog.com/3d-realms-epic-dnf-was-a-guerilla-marketing-scheme-the-chair-story/

    @Sony and game distribution: for what platform? I mean for PC there are sooo many competitors already in. For PS3? Why would you do that for PS3? Shouldn’t they focus on selling the PS3 first? I mean if you want to distribute game, first make sure there is a market.

    I smell a strategical error here.

    @2010 predictions: Sony will keep it’s downwards spiral. Sorry Son(n)y, you keep burning cash instead of focusing on your core products.

  2. @Duke Nukem Forever: but there’s more!
    http://www.breakitdownblog.com/3d-realms-epic-dnf-was-a-guerilla-marketing-scheme-the-chair-story/

    @Sony and game distribution: for what platform? I mean for PC there are sooo many competitors already in. For PS3? Why would you do that for PS3? Shouldn’t they focus on selling the PS3 first? I mean if you want to distribute game, first make sure there is a market.

    I smell a strategical error here.

    @2010 predictions: Sony will keep it’s downwards spiral. Sorry Son(n)y, you keep burning cash instead of focusing on your core products.

  3. Did 3D Realms not notice Half-Life was released on a slighty-dated at the time modified Quake 2 engine?

    And the Build engine Duke Nukem 3D was fairly dated when Duke 3D launched.

    This is how Daikatana was delayed. They kept changing engines. Pick an engine and stick with it. So long as you don’t have Atari 2600 pixels, people won’t care if the gameplay is exciting and fun.

  4. Did 3D Realms not notice Half-Life was released on a slighty-dated at the time modified Quake 2 engine?

    And the Build engine Duke Nukem 3D was fairly dated when Duke 3D launched.

    This is how Daikatana was delayed. They kept changing engines. Pick an engine and stick with it. So long as you don’t have Atari 2600 pixels, people won’t care if the gameplay is exciting and fun.

  5. …… i haven’t played final fantasy for Hundreds hours. lolz k maybe I have, but even tho I’m a fan of Square Enix. Square Enix can be a lucky dip. Not all their games are awesome, there are some many s*#t spin off’s. mainly due to which development team you get. But most of their Major Titles like VII, X, XII & XIII (inc their films) are awesome to me. I am a fan because I enjoy the style of game play, they have such awesome stories which drive you to finish the game & last I really appreciate the art work & design that goes into these games.
    Cheers
    Sorry bout the late comment was having too much fun spending time wit family down south. Hope you all had a good Xmas & New year =]

  6. …… i haven’t played final fantasy for Hundreds hours. lolz k maybe I have, but even tho I’m a fan of Square Enix. Square Enix can be a lucky dip. Not all their games are awesome, there are some many s*#t spin off’s. mainly due to which development team you get. But most of their Major Titles like VII, X, XII & XIII (inc their films) are awesome to me. I am a fan because I enjoy the style of game play, they have such awesome stories which drive you to finish the game & last I really appreciate the art work & design that goes into these games.
    Cheers
    Sorry bout the late comment was having too much fun spending time wit family down south. Hope you all had a good Xmas & New year =]

  7. AC1 & 2 are awesome. The 1st one was a bit repetitive but had such a good story & concept. That to me was more than enough to drive me to complete the game. ( + the assassinations with the hidden blade are so COOL =p) The 2nd one is not repetitive and learnt from criticism. The game continues the great story & is more awesome then the 1st. I think its great that the games developer added more side quests and responsibilities to than just finding flags like in the 1st. Only played the game for 8 or so hours but pretty keen to finish the game due to already finished COD:MW2 in a few hrs on veteran tho it was a good experience.
    Cheers , have a good one.

  8. AC1 & 2 are awesome. The 1st one was a bit repetitive but had such a good story & concept. That to me was more than enough to drive me to complete the game. ( + the assassinations with the hidden blade are so COOL =p) The 2nd one is not repetitive and learnt from criticism. The game continues the great story & is more awesome then the 1st. I think its great that the games developer added more side quests and responsibilities to than just finding flags like in the 1st. Only played the game for 8 or so hours but pretty keen to finish the game due to already finished COD:MW2 in a few hrs on veteran tho it was a good experience.
    Cheers , have a good one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

Episode 413: Baldur’s Gaming PodcastEpisode 413: Baldur’s Gaming Podcast

Jonah survived the cold snap, and everything is okay – we think. There’s not much to this podcast except for the extensive discussions on completely unrelated topics.

The news this week includes:

  • The Chinese Room gearing up to announce a new game
  • “Who wouldn’t want to take on” Baldur’s Gate 3, says former Bioware writer
  • New rumor has Forza Motorsport 6 and Forza Horizon 3 coming to Windows 10
  • id Software: DOOM reboot single player campaign around 13 hours

Question of the Week: “What is your favorite FPS?”

Episode 441: No IntroEpisode 441: No Intro

No, that’s not a clever pun. For whatever reason, the opening intro is missing from the file. It’s just not there – perhaps the recording software was late in starting.

Regardless, the crew discuss the Palmer Luckey scandal before moving head with a new segment, just to discuss random stuff they’ve seen that isn’t on the news docket.

Speaking of which, the news includes:

  • Beyond Good and Evil 2 is happening, original game free on PC next week
  • The Witcher 3 success “marred my books,” claims author
  • October has arrived, and the Nintendo NX has not
  • Fallout 4/Skyrim mods are back on for PlayStation 4, with one big caveat

All this and Listener Feedback!

Episode 723: Hellblade and HelldiversEpisode 723: Hellblade and Helldivers

No Gravatar

The gang discusses the PC Gaming Show coming June 9, Tesla ending Steam support in its vehicles, Ghost of Tsushima being PlayStation’s biggest single-player PC launch to date (second only to Helldivers 2), Hellblade 2 developer Ninja Theory’s next game reportedly already greenlit by Xbox (and “no plans whatsoever” to close studio), Grand Theft Auto 6 publisher “highly confident” of an Autumn 2025 release window and the Resident Evil 1 Remake is in production and will release in 2026 according to a leaker.

The news includes:

  • This year’s Call of Duty will reportedly launch on Xbox Game Pass
  • Jason Voorhees slashes into the MultiVersus roster
  • Life By You is delayed again

Let us know what you think.

The post Episode 723: Hellblade and Helldivers first appeared on Gaming Podcast.