The Castlevania series was born in Japan on September 26th back in 1986. That knowledge in hand, you can imagine the demographic of 30+ year old gamers who would kill to get an old school franchise title on a new graphic intensive console.
We’ve had many new Castlevania releases since 1986 including releases on the Nintendo DS in 2006 with more titles arriving with the Castlevania branding. However, we’ve not seen a true “full blown” Castlevania title in some time. As a retro style gamer, I’d love to hear news that this would be a 2D game with “next generation” graphics.
There are far too few really great 2D side scrolling platformers for this generation of consoles. Outside of Nintendo, most side scroller systems become “arcade” titles in XBLA or PSN. Over the last fifteen years we’ve had plenty of 3D games with jumping and crazy camera work. Lately, we’ve had some new titles arriving that are 2D platformers like Little Big Planet and the recently released Mega Man 9.
More than likely, Konami will follow the flow and design yet another old franchise with new 3D graphics. Given the demographic for this franchise it would almost seem like a selling point to jump back to a 2D world view.
What would you like? A 3D or 2D Castlevania title on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3?
Hi guys!
Thanks for this episode! I really loved, that you talked so much about older games, so I could listen more carefully because I nearly knew all the games!
But some things to mention:
Open world Elden ring: I am completely on your side Jonah: I don’t have that much time to grind 10 hours to get to next point. I want games where I knew that they will end after 10 levels or when you solved 50 puzzles or something like that. Open world games don’t have that goal for me. I totally understand that people having fun with that, but not me 🙂
Street fighter 3: I was involved in the street fighter video game scene so I knew what you tried to analyze. In my opinion on 3rd strike came up when SF4 was released. Many old players didn’t like it and tried to show their disrespect by hyping 3rd strike again.
Hard mode / easy mode / achievements:
I think it’s hard for developers to find the best way between „not to easy but hard enough to not get bored“. Sometimes I like to change the difficulty but sometimes I feel like I don’t wanna have the choice because I want to play the game how it was intended by the developers.
Achievements: sometimes I try to get them, sometimes I don’t care. It depends on the game. It’s nice because you don’t need them, they don’t change the game itself but if you really want to can play the game a different way. So I think it’s a nice thing and it’s a nice addition.
Thanks again and please stay healthy and enjoy life!
Greetings,
Ralf