Square Enix, like many developers today, look to combine their efforts with like-minded individuals making video games for our industry. Recently they put out a bid to pickup Tecmo and expand their development archive to new heights by jumping into a few more genre’s without starting at the ground floor.
Tecmo, has decided to opt-out of the friendly bid for the company and has decided to persue a merger with KOEI instead. Square Enix could opt for a hostile take-over bid, much like we’ve seen occur to others in the industry but their smarter than that, Square Enix President Yoichi Wada went on record saying:
“If they truly dislike Square Enix, there is no point. All creators would leave the firm the moment the deal was done. It would be the equivalent of buying a building.” (reuters)
Although Tecmo hasn’t spit upon Square Enix and said they “hate” them, declining the take-over bid explains a lot about the direction Tecmo plans to go, and those plans don’t include Square Enix.
It would have been interesting to see what direction Square Enix would take with Tecmo. Perhaps Square Enix will look to another development company to bid on.
Hello guys.
(First of all: i am not a native english speaker, so please excuse me, if some sentences sound horrible 😀 )
I really enjoy every episode of your stream. Thank you for your time doing such a nice podcast!
In the latest episode you asked the listener to comment about Ono mentioned, that there will be no pay to win in Street Fighter 5. I am a huge Fan of Street Fighter (since i played it the first time on the SNES (i think it´s called super favicon in th US 😉 )). Regarding SF4 (and all the updates: super, ultra and so on). there is NO opportunity to pay to win. The only thing you can buy, are other costumes and stuff like that. All balancing is for free, which means, you can’t buy an updated version of a character to make it stronger. If you have a newer version of the game (for example the lastest one: ultra street fighter 4) you are only able to use the new characters against other people who got the latest version. But you have the opportunity to select an older version of the game, before you look online for opponents. This means a person who has NOT the newest version of the game, and with this, neither the new characters is NOT able to play against another player with a new version. He is only able to play against other players with the same version of the game. so it is NOT able to pay to win … except you feel like a winner, when your char has another costume 😉
Belonging to your question of the week, my favourite “monster” is not a real monster … it´s only a giant turtle: Groß-A’Tuin. I don’t exactly, if it has the same name in the english version, but this is the giant turtle from Discworld, on which back are standing the four giants, which carry the disc world 🙂 I really like big giant things .. such as this out of the world turtle … it´s so smooth and gentle 🙂
I have two question for you: is there any possibility to get older episodes than the ones in itunes-podcast?
second one: do you have experience in upscaling devices, so i can play my old consoles (like NES and Master System) on a new Plasma tv? A friend told me about this site: http://retrogaming.hazard-city.de … but i hope you may have some experience already and could share them with me 🙂
Thanks again for your great work, and please keep on doing this podcast.
If you ever want to visit germany, maybe to join the games con or just for fun, contact me … i can help you around in germany and you can stay at my place 🙂
So long, greetings
Ralf