Episode 463: Not an April Fool’s Episode

This week’s episode has nothing to do with April Fool’s Day, since that was a week ago. There’s nothing surprising about the crew this time around, though Jonah does finally give his final (?) thoughts on Mass Effect: Andromeda, and Zelda keeps getting heavy praise. The Persona 5 news item alone spurred a ton of debate.

This week’s episode includes the following news:

  • Twitch and YouTube streamers slam Persona 5‘s video policy
  • Total War: Warhammer 2 announced with a new trailer
  • Valve only wants to sell you good games
  • Nintendo might have accidentally revealed that Pokemon is coming to the Switch

Let us know what you think of the heated discussions in the episode.

0 thoughts on “Episode 463: Not an April Fool’s Episode”

  1. Personally I find the Persona 5 anti-streaming rules insane. If you’re worried that “spoiling” your game will make people not want to buy it then you probably should have made it better in the first place. For good games, streamers and YouTubers help to draw sales by increasing interest in games. Here in America there is a certain subset into the Persona series, but for most of the populous these are an enigma. This isn’t Japan where everyone is balls-deep in the series. Increased U.S. exposure can only increase sales.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

Episode 648: Sleeping ScottEpisode 648: Sleeping Scott

[This episode has been re-uploaded due to technical issues]

Scott falls asleep mid-podcast, leaving Jonah and TJ to wrap up the episode. In the meantime, the crew get nostalgic over the “Toys to Life” craze, as this week’s Gaming Flashback is Skylanders: Spyro’s Adventure.

This week’s news includes:

  • The Bethesda Launcher will be shut down on May 11
  • PlayStation 5 finally getting Variable Refresh Rate support this week
  • Sony wants someone to shape its Playstation PC plans
  • Baldur’s Gate 3 officially gets 2023 release window

Let us know what you think.

Netflix and Xbox 360 – It’s a DealNetflix and Xbox 360 – It’s a Deal

If you’re a Netflix subscriber and own an Xbox 360 you’ll be able to watch the entire library of Netflix programming on your console. This deal, recently announced at E3, puts Microsoft in a great way in terms of being the console to buy for multi-media entertainment against its Rival Sony.

While the Wii can’t even play a DVD, Sony holds a lot of power of its Music (having its own labels helps) and its ability to play Blu-Ray movies. Microsoft’s HD-DVD player DVD player doesn’t handle high definition movies, although most new consoles have HDMI and all the high definition goodies ready to go.

Again, this won’t cost current Netflix subscribers any additional cost, “and movies and TV shows can be shared with the avatar-based community called Live Party, just announced earlier this morning.” (Kotaku)

This may not inspire you to run out and purchase an Xbox 360 console but it may be a deciding factor when pitting it up against the PlayStation 3 when shopping for a current-generation system.

Michael Pachter Says Wii HD Will LaunchMichael Pachter Says Wii HD Will Launch

Wedbush Morgan Securities analyst Michael Pachter is “absolutely convinced” we’ll see a Nintendo Wii HD by 2011. What makes him so sure? In short, Nintendo will start to look bad if their console is said to be “for your mom” instead of for gamers.

What they’ve done, so far, is show the industry there is more market than just hardcore gamers. They’ve also convinced many of us that only hardcore gamers actually buy games. Nintendo says they’re selling games, we’ve just not seen any real evidence of that outside of their own first party titles.

“Nintendo has to overcome that [lack of graphics power],” said Pachter. “A Wii HD would really position Nintendo well, which is why I’m absolutely convinced there is a Wii HD coming. Businesswise, they can’t have people saying that their machine is a toy for my mom.” (gamedaily)

Nintendo obviously doesn’t to be the focus of a “your mom” joke outside of being able to boast huge sales figures. Selling the console into homes has definitely raised the awareness of their brand to gamers and non-gamers alike. Now, it seems, Nintendo is going to have to “grow up” and get with the high definition graphics crowd… by 2011.

Would you re-buy a Wii if it was in HD? It’s also important to note Prachter believed Take-Two would become EA and was “convinced” of it. That didn’t happen. Will this?