We’ve had some time to look through the New Xbox Experience (aka Fall Update 08) for the Xbox 360. There are some goods, bads and oddities about the latest updated firmware and thought it was a good time to share.
The most important feature we’ve found with the new console software is the addition of Netflix. The ability to play software in the “Instant Queue” is excellent, fast and done with high quality. If you have children this may be one of the must-have product features; add a ton of family movies to the Netflix Instant Queue and your children will have hours of entertainment.
We’re not telling you to sit the children in front of the TV for ten hours, but it proves to be a great way to get quality entertainment without bombarding them with commercials telling them to tell you they need new stuff. This is especially true around the holidays where kids are watching more commercials than actual episodes of Sponge Bob Square Pants.
We were a non-Netflix household and recently bought into their second tier program so we can watch instant shows and get one DVD at a time. The NXE has up-sold at least one new Netflix customer, great job Microsoft!
Avatars are another “feature” to the new console software and it all seems very Wii like. Months ago we were kidding about how they’re cloning some features of the Wii but in reality, it’s more a clone than we thought. The sound track while creating your Avatar feels almost ripped from the Wii in terms of cute settling sounds and silly uplifting music. This isn’t your dad’s console anymore Timmy.
The outfits to dress your Mii, oops, avatar in are very limited and you’ll no doubt see a lot of sameness in dress and overall look to the avatars. But, now Microsoft is showing us how to differentiate ourselves by purchasing virtual items to make our avatars cooler. For 250 Microsoft points you can now buy a Ninja Blade theme pack which includes wallpapers and avatar items. Yay. No, seriously, we’re supposed to buy this crap?
The NXE also supports a full system re-design, out with the blades in with the… Cover Flow? The NXE now acts more like iTunes, the iPod and the Apple OS X more than ever. You’ll breeze through your game list, NetFlix Queue, Friends List and other features as if it were Cover Flow album art. Cool in some ways, frustrating in others.
In some ways, item lists are the fastest and easiest ways to view things. For instance, prior to NXE you could tell who was online in your friends list within a few seconds. Now, with NXE you’ll troll through your friends list four-by-four flying through the “art” of your friends avatars hanging out next to a “room” mimicking the game they’re playing. Cute, no doubt, but not an effective way to see who is online.
The in-game console pop-up windows are much cleaner and easier to browse using a mini-blade style approach to finding information. This new re-design allows you to get more from your console interface while in-game than ever before.
The one neglected feature, in my humble opinion, is the “spit and polish” of the new interface. They took some aspects of OS X and some aspects of Wii and mixed them together to make organizational changes, some good and some bad. However, the interface is very flat, drab and boring. There is no real glossy shine to anything, very little in textures for backdrops and windows fixtures and very anti-vista like when it comes down to drop shadows and beauty. A little more glamor, gloss and reflective surfaces would have made the interface look a bit more next-generation in terms of cool factor.
Overall, it is what it is. You may like it, hate it or just learn to live with it. Some features will be easier to browse around while others will require a bit more work. We’ve noticed about a 10 to 12 second pause between shopping screens for add-ons, arcade game downloads and such, hopefully that will change in the coming weeks. It stands out as a bit different from the competitors, in some aspects, while paying tribute to some of the cooler features of other products.
The Netflix addition is the best part of NXE, but that could have come available without a full user interface redesign. Your thoughts?
The obvious answer is no, Sony don’t NEED theese 2 games to drop in the 2009 calendar year.
If you take a look at the games that are CONFIRMED to hit before 2010:
Killzone 2
White Knight Chronicles (US and EU release)
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
Yakuza 3 (Japan)
Infamous
Final Fantasy XIII (Japan)
Heavy Rain
New Ratchet & Clank
Gran Turismo 5 (Possibly)
That’s more than enough to offset anything that Microsoft/Nintendo can conjure up. Even if Microsoft were to shock everyone by releasing Halo 4 and Gears Of War 3 (Har har) Sony would still outshine them without the two games you mentioned.
Personally, i probably won’t even be picking up MAG and God Of War 3 is an afterthought for me. The game i’m most looking forward to is Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.
The obvious answer is no, Sony don’t NEED theese 2 games to drop in the 2009 calendar year.
If you take a look at the games that are CONFIRMED to hit before 2010:
Killzone 2
White Knight Chronicles (US and EU release)
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
Yakuza 3 (Japan)
Infamous
Final Fantasy XIII (Japan)
Heavy Rain
New Ratchet & Clank
Gran Turismo 5 (Possibly)
That’s more than enough to offset anything that Microsoft/Nintendo can conjure up. Even if Microsoft were to shock everyone by releasing Halo 4 and Gears Of War 3 (Har har) Sony would still outshine them without the two games you mentioned.
Personally, i probably won’t even be picking up MAG and God Of War 3 is an afterthought for me. The game i’m most looking forward to is Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.
With the inevitable price cut supposedly sometime this year, i think sony can hold off GOW 3 and MAG at least till next year.
The PS3 seem to be coming alive and starting to gain some real momentum and i think a $100 price drop might just seal the deal and save them from utter failure and embarrassment.
Microsoft has already got their install base sewn up hence only need to worry about selling software. Sony on the other hand have the harder task of marketing what seems like a luxury brand (to most people) in a recession. Many people simple can’t justify spending that much on what is primary a game console. (blue-ray simply doesn’t cut it Sony)
At the end of the day it comes down to Two words, PRICE CUT, and they better do it quick.
With the inevitable price cut supposedly sometime this year, i think sony can hold off GOW 3 and MAG at least till next year.
The PS3 seem to be coming alive and starting to gain some real momentum and i think a $100 price drop might just seal the deal and save them from utter failure and embarrassment.
Microsoft has already got their install base sewn up hence only need to worry about selling software. Sony on the other hand have the harder task of marketing what seems like a luxury brand (to most people) in a recession. Many people simple can’t justify spending that much on what is primary a game console. (blue-ray simply doesn’t cut it Sony)
At the end of the day it comes down to Two words, PRICE CUT, and they better do it quick.
The price cut would have been announced today had there been one. Sony’s losing too much per unit still.
The price cut would have been announced today had there been one. Sony’s losing too much per unit still.
The “Rumoured” PS3 price cut isn’t supposed to take effect until April………so why would they have announced it in March??? LOL………….
The “Rumoured” PS3 price cut isn’t supposed to take effect until April………so why would they have announced it in March??? LOL………….
The rumored price drop was March.
http://www.gamestooge.com/2008/11/25/playstation-3-march-2009-price-drop-rumor/
The rumored price drop was March.
http://www.gamestooge.com/2008/11/25/playstation-3-march-2009-price-drop-rumor/
Another rumor:
http://www.gamestooge.com/2009/03/07/more-ps3-price-drop-predictions-by-analysts/
This one was shot down by Sony as well.
Another rumor:
http://www.gamestooge.com/2009/03/07/more-ps3-price-drop-predictions-by-analysts/
This one was shot down by Sony as well.
LOL…..as the link you just provided proves, the price cut isn’t expected to take place until April at the EARLIEST.
Better learn how Sony’s FISCAL year works……..it runs from April through to March of the following year. It makes far more sense for Sony to cut the price at the start of a new fiscal year rather than at the very end of one.
LOL…..as the link you just provided proves, the price cut isn’t expected to take place until April at the EARLIEST.
Better learn how Sony’s FISCAL year works……..it runs from April through to March of the following year. It makes far more sense for Sony to cut the price at the start of a new fiscal year rather than at the very end of one.